• Search button
  • Search
  • Translate
City of Jackson Announces Mayor’s Youth Council for 2021-2022
Posted on 02/10/2021





JACKSON, Tenn. – Students from local high schools will advise Mayor Scott Conger and City Council on ideas to improve the community for younger generations.

Invitations to apply were sent to all area high schools including public, private and homeschool. Nominees must live in Jackson, meet GPA requirements, submit two letters of recommendation, have a passion for serving the community and have a desire for learning more about city government.

The following students were selected to serve:

Student School
Jamarrea Anderson North Side High School
Blair Driver University School of Jackson
Sanaii Davis South Side High School
Trip Richard Day Jackson Christian School
Emma Eddleman Augustine School
Blessy Garcia Jackson Central-Merry Early College High
Amaris Newby Liberty Technology Magnet School
Georgia Nicholson Trinity Christian Academy
Colin Richardson Madison Academic Magnet High School
Allison Thompson Sacred Heart of Jesus High School

Members will be sworn in during a private ceremony with Mayor Scott Conger, city council and their families on February 25.

During their council term, students will learn about city policies and get a behind-the-scenes look at how local government operates. They will also participate in current initiatives and have the opportunity to develop individual leadership skills.

“We want students to love where they live,” said Mayor Scott Conger. “When they become adults, we would like for them to stay in or return to Jackson to invest their talents. The youth council is a platform for younger generations to see tangible results in their community and is a catalyst for innovation.”

This is the second year for the Mayor’s Youth Council. Students will meet once a month until a new council is selected spring 2022.
For more information, visit the Mayor's Youth Council page.

Website by CivicLive. © 2024 Civiclive. All rights reserved.